Specialities

Discussion in 'Suggestions & Ideas' started by Tsubori, Mar 4, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Tsubori

Tsubori Hunter of Beacon vet

I think some people are viewing specialities too much as a bridge to treasures, and I don't think that's the way they should be. The effect for specialities are that they reduce the cost of one thing, while increasing the cost of everything else. Now, that's good in and of itself on it's own. Problem is when you start having items that require specialities.

Let's use the example of my Fire mage, Stjarnstill. I made Stjarny back when I was a newbie, when PWC actually did correspond with the character's stats, thus I made him 1/5/1, wanting him to be a strong fire mage, while also being smart. Now, as I was talking with someone about today, who wants to make a treasure that's speciality exclusive, any character with 5 in their stat has absolutely no use for a speciality. It ONLY drags their costs up while opening up maybe two treasures at most.

So should someone be punished for making a W5 character? My overall point is that there should always be SOME other method of getting the treasure. I also noticed we actually have been adding a lot of root treasures, such as Fire control and Dark affinity. Would it not make more sense to have the treasures listed with that as a prerequisite as opposed to the Specialities?
  2. Blonde Panther

Blonde Panther Not always sweet and delicate vet

3DS Friend Code:
    4270-0958-9582